Dutch Open 2020 – Winners and Highlights.

The Men’s and Ladies singles winners have been confirmed at the 2020 Dutch Open Darts in Assen.

Montgomery Mops Up!

The men’s event saw double glory for Ross ‘The Boss’ Montgomery who claimed his second Dutch Open title. Montgomery started by edging through in a 4-3 win over Levy Frauenfelder in the last 64. After that, Stefan Martena (4-1), Aleksey Kadochnikov (4-0) and John Desreumaux (5-3) were next to fall to ‘The Boss’.

Montgomery defeated BDO world champion Wayne Warren at the semi-final stage claiming a 2-1 sets win. He then defeated Brian Raman 3-1 in the Final. He also took glory earlier in the day when claiming the Men’s pairs title with Martin Adams.

The Ladies crown went to Aileen de Graaf who claimed the honours for the third time she defeated compatriot Anca Ziljstra to do so in a 5-2 victory.

Pairs Titles:

The Ladies title was claimed by Lorraine Winstanley and Margaret Sutton whodefeated the Dutch duo of Anca Ziljstra and Femke van Zuiden in a 4-2 win after winning through the field on Friday.

Men’s event witnessed Ross Montgomery and Martin Adams defeating another Dutch pairing of Colin Roelofs and Ryan de Vreede in a closely fought 5-4 win.

Ladies Doubles Final.
Lorraine Winstanley/Margaret Sutton 4-2 Anca Zijlstra/Femke van Zuiden

Men’s Doubles Final.
Ross Montgomery & Martin Adams 5-4 Colin Roelofs & Ryan de Vreede

Youth Events

In the Girls, it was Lerena Rietbergen who defeated her compatriot Layla Brussel 3-1 in the first final. This was followed up with the Boys Under 14 final.The title went to Stijn Verbakel who claimed a 3-0 win over Francesco Basili. Then in the Boys under 18 it was Mark Tabak who won the final Youth title defeating Marcel Bus, former JDC World Cup runner-up in a 4-1 win.

Youth Age Group Finals:
Girls: Lerena Rietbergen 3-1 Layla Brussel
Boys U14: Stijn Verbakel 3-0 Francesco Basili
Boys U18: Mark Tabak 4-1 Marcel Bus