Noppert takes home Scottish Open title

Scottish Open winner Danny Noppert
Scottish Open winner Danny Noppert

Danny Noppert claimed his second title of 2016 at the Scottish Open with a crushing 6-0 victory over Dean Reynolds.

The Dutchman added to his Den Haag Open win last month by being crowned in the Kingdom of Fife on Saturday evening, with a 33.4 one-dart average in the final.

The current BDO number 25 also had to face a tricky last four tie with Ted Hankey yet swept away his Counterpart 5-1 en route to the £3,000 prize.

2015 champion Dennis Harbour suffered a premature exit, the 54-year-old veteran going down to Jamie Hughes at the last 16 stage.

Former Scotland international football striker Kevin Kyle produced one of the stories of the weekend by sensationally dumping Lakeside semi-finalist Richard Veenstra in the third round.

Meanwhile, Glen Durrant and Martin Atkins scooped the mens pairs title with a 3-1 final victory over Stephen Lennon and Michael Meaney.


2016 Scottish Open – selected results

Last 32

Glen Durrant 4-1 Ian Gleeson

Madars Razma 4-2 Bradley Kirk

David Carr 4-1 Kevin Thoburn

Conan Whitehead 4-2 Paul Jennings

Jim Williams 4-2 Cameron Menzies

Tom Gregory 4-3 Richard Edwards

Dean Reynolds 4-3 Ewan Hyslop

Wesley Harms 4-0 Chris Thomson

Jamie Hughes 4-0 John Eyre

Dennis Harbour 4-2 Tony O’Shea

Ted Hankey 4-1 Euan Callander

Scott Mitchell 4-2 Michael Meaney

Shaun Carroll 4-3 Mark McGeeney

Danny Noppert 4-1 Neil Duff

Martin C Atkins 4-1 Steve Douglas

Dave Parletti 4-0 Martin Adams


Last 16

Madars Razma 4-3 Glen Durrant

David Carr 4-3 Conan Whitehead

Jim Williams 4-2 Tom Gregory

Dean Reynolds 4-2 Wesley Harms

Jamie Hughes 4-2 Dennis Harbour

Ted Hankey 4-1 Scott Mitchell

Danny Noppert 4-1 Shaun Carroll

Dave Parletti 4-2 Martin C Atkins



David Carr 5-2 Madars Razma

Dean Reynolds 5-1 Jim Williams

Ted Hankey 5-1 Jamie Hughes

Danny Noppert 5-0 Dave Parletti



Dean Reynolds (28.26) 5-1 David Carr (24.38)

Danny Noppert (33.12) 5-1 Ted Hankey (27.72)



Danny Noppert (33.40) 6-0 Dean Reynolds (28.63)