Michie and Stephan Claim James Ross Memorial Events.

The second James Ross Memorial Darts Championship was held at the Keppoch Inn, by Culloden, and sixty players played in three tournaments to honour James’ memory. Thanks to Jim MacNeil for the review.

Stephen Michie – Men’s Champion.

In the opening tournament, Ayrshire’s Lorraine Hyde teamed up with Stephen Michie from Aberdeen and local player Jim Paterson to win the Triples competition. The champions defeated David Fraser from the Tarradale, Steve Munro from East End Arrows and Raymond Shiach, 3-0 in the final to land Lorraines’ second consecutive title.

Grampian player Stephen Michie took the Mens Championship and the £500 first prize with a 4-1 win over Highland’s Barry Maclean in the final. Barry took £200 as a consolation as Stephen added the Singles to his Triples success from earlier in the day.

Last year’s runner-up James Fraser was a semi-finalist this year along with Innes Spikeys player Stuart Pearce.

Kevin Wilson, Martyn Cameron, Robert Mackenzie and Davy Grant made up the last eight in the tournament.

Sarah Stephen – Ladies Champion

Elgin’s Sarah Stephen had her name added to the prestigious trophy and also picked up £500, as she defeated Lorraine Hyde 3-0 in the final of the Ladies Singles, leaving Lorraine as runner-up two years in a row.

The semi-finalists were both from the newly formed Keppoch Belles darts team, Mandy Anderson and Jacqui Hill.

The quarter-finalists were last year’s champion Lynn Shearer, her daughter Caroline, Kate Anderson and Marian Ogg.

Twenty-four maximums were scored by Kevin Wilson (3), Barry Maclean (3), Davy Grant (3), Doug Duncan (2), James Fraser (2), Sandy Morrison (2), Gary Gunn (2), Stephen Michie (2), Martyn Cameron, Gary Henderson, Doug Milne, Stuart Pearce, and Angie Isbister.

The top checkout on the day came from James Fraser with a finish of 148, followed by Kevin Wilson (140), David Fraser (120), Sandy Morrison (119 & 110), Ally Ross (116 & 102), Martyn Cameron (116 & 100), Doug Milne (115) and Doug Duncan (108).

Kevin Wilson had 13 & 14 dart legs, Stephen Michie had a 13 dart leg, Davy Grant, Martyn Cameron and Barry Maclean all had 14 dart legs, Robert Mackenzie and James Fraser both had 15 dart legs.

Triples Champions

Thanks to Jim MacNeil for the information and the Pics.